This page is for those state employees preparing to retire, or those retired state employees who may still be eligible for State's Retiree Medical Plan. Each section below contains important information on eligibility, enrollment and disenrollment, and COBRA.
To be eligible to enroll, you must:
- be a retired officer or employee of a state agency, department, or institution who was hired on or before June 30, 2009,
- be under age 65,
- have at least 20,800 hours of credited state service,
- be receiving monthly retirement benefits from a State Retirement System,
- retire directly from state service
Eligible dependents include the following:
- your legal spouse
- your dependent children up to their 26th birthday
Retirees hired after June 30, 2009 are not eligible for coverage unless they have credited state service of at least 20,800 hours before June 30, 2009 and subsequent to reemployment, election, or reappointment on or after July 1, 2009 accumulate an additional 6,240 continuous hours of credited state service and are otherwise eligible for coverage. If you are not eligible for the State's retiree group medical plan, click here to learn how to use remaining sick leave funds to pay premiums for a Medicare supplemental plan.
After your eligibility for group insurance coverage ends, you may be able to purchase continued medical coverage, on an individual basis, for a period of time under the federal Consolidated Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act of 1985 (COBRA). Retirees and/or dependents may be able to elect COBRA continuation of medical coverage. Blue Cross of Idaho administers COBRA coverage for state of Idaho group members.
To request an informational/enrollment packet, contact Blue Cross directly at 1-800-289-8613 ext. 8211.
To enroll for coverage, complete the form and submit it to the Office of Group Insurance. In order for the coverage to be effective on the first day of the month following the date active employee coverage terminates, your enrollment form must be submitted within sixty (60) days of the date that the active employee policy ends. If your enrollment form is submitted after the sixty (60) day enrollment period, you will be considered a late enrollee and coverage will be effective the first day of the month following the date of application.
Enrollment forms must be submitted to the Office of Group Insurance by mail, Fax, email or hand delivery.
Details about the medical plans, exclusions and waiting periods, can be found in each medical plan document and Summary of Benefits & Coverage (SBC).
If you decide that you want to terminate your enrollment in our group plan, you need to print the Enrollment Form, complete the section noted COMPLETE ONLY TO DECLINE ALL BENEFITS and submit the form to the Office of Group Insurance.
Forms can be submitted to the Office of Group Insurance by mail, Fax, email or hand delivery.
Because your Medicare coverage begins on the first day of the month in which you turn 65 and your eligibility for the Retiree Group Medical Plan ends on the last day of that month, you could qualify for a reduced premium rate for your birthday month if you have Medicare parts A and B.
You will receive notifications from Blue Cross as well as the Office of Group Insurance; however, you may contact our office if you would like additional information.